Dairy Free Ice Cream-DESSERT!

bananaicecream

I’m picky. Very picky. Dessert in the Paleo/Whole 30 form is hard to come by.  I’m not a fan of coconut flour and the array of substitute flour concoctions with almond meal, arrow root, blah-blah is often too much work after I’ve worked all day.  This “ice cream” is the best.  I first saw this idea on Skinny Mom.  I had to make some changes because of the dairy, but feel free to get creative.  I’ve used frozen strawberries, cherries (tart and/or sweet), blueberries, natural peanut butter, unsweetened coconut… you get the idea…

You will need a food processor.  I buy bulk bananas, frozen strawberries, cherries and blueberries at Costco, chop two bananas at a time and put in Ziplocs in the freezer so I always have this waiting.

Dairy Free Ice Cream

  • 2 Bananas, sliced and frozen (Must be sliced before freezing)
  • ½ cup strawberries, cherries, or your fruit of choice, frozen
  • 6 ounces coconut milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • Optional Garnishes: mint leaves, unsweetened coconut, unsweetened cocoa, Enjoy Life chocolate chips, almonds

Throw this all in the processor and let it rip for about 2 minutes until it is smooth.  When I use cherries and chocolate chips, I leave it a little chunky.  We eat it right away, but if you like it solid, put it in the freezer for at least an hour to firm up.

Leave a Reply

