Lamb Roast

It’s time.  Lamb makes my quality of life just one notch higher than before I met my first lamb roast. This recipe is adapted from Nigella’s Lamb Roast for One and is great with shanks or a roast.  Usually saved for holidays, but now and then I find beautiful shanks from the meat counter at Whole Foods. Worth the splurge.

WP_20151215_001

Roast

In the slow cooker on low for six hours.

3-4 lb Lamb Shoulder Roast

4 sprigs fresh rosemary

1 bulb garlic, cloves peeled

1/2-1 cup olive oil

1/4-1/2 cup good red table wine or port

1 teaspoon sea salt

1/2 teaspoon course black pepper

Place the lamb fat side up in slow cooker.  Make slits in the fat and stuff the peeled garlic cloves over entire top of lamb.  Yes, slightly tedious, but worth the infusion.  The lamb I get from Costco has a net over it so I stuff every other square with a piece of garlic.

Pour the olive oil and wine over the lamb.  I throw in sprigs of rosemary, thyme and mint leaves if I have some still fresh in the garden.  Sometimes I throw in some more garlic cloves just because we love it so much.  Generously salt and pepper the top and leave it alone for six hours.

 

 

Leave a Reply

